Distinguished PTTI Service Award


The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding contributions related to the management of PTTI systems.

Eligibility and Regulations

The criteria for the PTTI Distinguished Service Award are that the award shall recognize an individual for any of the following contributions to the field of PTTI:

  1. Provided exceptional leadership and demonstrated ability and ingenuity in the development or application of PTTI over a number of years.
  2. Designed or developed a significant PTTI system.

The award shall be given, at most, once each year. It shall be given only in those years in which an outstanding nominee is considered worthy of such recognition.


Nominations for this award may be submitted by anyone, but all nominations must be in conformance with ION nomination standards. Recipients need not be ION members. Nominations received in correct form by October 15 will be considered; submissions received after the closing date will not be considered.

Submit a Nomination

Nominations can be submitted online at the link above, or by email to mlewis@ion.org.


The award consists of an appropriately designed clock and a certificate. The award is presented at the Annual Precise Time and Time Interval (PTTI) Systems and Applications Meeting.

Past Recipients

2012: Mr. Ron Beard
2011: Mr. William J. Riley
2010: Dr. Joseph White
2009: Dr. Judah Levine
2008: Dr. Patrizia Tavella
2007: Dr. R. Michael Garvey
2006: Dr. David Mills
2005: Dr. Norman F. Ramsey
2003: Mr. S. Clark Wardrip
2002: Mr. Harry Peters
2001: Dr. Robert F.C. Vessot
2000: Mr. Roger Easton
1999: Dr. Leonard S. Cutler
1998: Dr. Jacques Vanier
1997: Professor Bernard Rene Guinot
1996: Professor Sigrido M. Leschiutta
1995: Dr. James A. Barnes
1994: Dr. Gernot M.R. Winkler