Johannes Kepler Award

Sponsored by the Satellite Division of the Institute of Navigation


To honor an individual during their lifetime for sustained and significant contributions to the development of satellite navigation.


The award shall consist of a suitable plaque with appropriate wording.

Eligibility and Regulations

  • The nominee must be a current member of the ION. Membership must have been established at least two years prior to nomination.
  • The nominee must have demonstrably enriched the intellectual content of the ION’s meetings and/or the ION’s journal, NAVIGATION.
  • Companies, agencies, educational institutions, associations, groups of individuals and previous Kepler Award recipients are not eligible for consideration.
  • The Award shall be given, at most, once each year.  It shall be given only in those years in which an outstanding contribution is considered worthy of such recognition.  The Award shall not be awarded posthumously.


Nominations may be submitted by anyone except the nominee. All nominations must conform to ION nomination standards and be submitted electronically through the ION’s web site. Nominations must be received by June 30. Submissions received after the closing date will not be considered. To be considered in subsequent years, nominees not selected in the current year must be re-submitted.

The following items must be submitted:

  1. A one-page biographical sketch (500 words or less) of the nominee with a summary of the nominee’s sustained and significant contributions to the development of satellite navigation, and a proposed citation in 25 words of less that describe his or her specific documented contribution(s)
  2. A full Curriculum Vitae including education, employment history, leadership positions within technical societies and associations, publications, awards, and patents
  3. Three signed letters of reference (one letter may be provided by the Nominator)

Submit a Nomination

Nominations can be submitted online, by fax to 703-366-2724, by email to or by mail to:

The Institute of Navigation
Satellite Division Awards Committee
8551 Rixlew Ln., Suite 360
Manassas, VA 20109


Nominations must be received by June 30th. Submissions received after the closing date will not be considered.

Selection Committee and Voting Procedures

For full information on the selection committee and voting procedures, download the Satellite Division Award Policies and Procedures.

Award Notification and Presentation

Traditionally the Kepler recipient is kept confidential. The Kepler winner shall not be notified in advance. The winner’s nominator may be notified in advance in order to assist with materials required for award presentation. In this case nominator will be asked to keep the Kepler recipient confidential.

Formal presentation of the awards will take place at the ION Satellite Division Annual Meeting (ION GNSS) in September. Winners will be reported in a subsequent issue of the ION Newsletter.

Past Recipients

1999: Dr. James J. Spilker, Jr.
1998: Dr. Peter Daly
1997: Dr. Gerard Lachapelle
1996: Dr. Frank van Graas
1995: Dr. Richard J. Anderle
1994: Ron Hatch
1993: Dr. A.J. Van Dierendonck
1992: Dr. Rudy Kalafus
1991: Dr. Bradford Parkinson