Captain P.V.H. Weems Award

Sponsored by The Institute of Navigation


The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual who has made continuing contributions to the advancement of navigation over a period of years, although the contribution in any one particular year did not warrant consideration for a Thurlow or Hays Award.


Given in memory of Captain Philip Van Horn Weems, U.S. Navy, a principal co-founder of The Institute of Navigation and an outstanding navigator and inventor whose methods and inventions had a major influence on both the U.S. Air Force and Navy. CAPT Weems is attributed with having patented the first method of performing navigation in space.

Eligibility and Regulations

  • A recipient does not have to be a member of the Institute of Navigation.
  • Companies, agencies, bureaus, associations or groups of individuals are not eligible for consideration.
  • The award shall be given, at most, once each year. It shall be given only in those years in which an outstanding nominee is considered worthy of such recognition.
  • Previous recipients are eligible for consideration again if their continuing contributions so warrant.


Nominations for this award may be submitted by anyone, but all nominations must be in conformance with ION nomination standards. Recipients need not be ION members. Nominations received in correct form by October 15 will be considered; submissions received after the closing date will not be considered.

Submit a Nomination

Nominations can be submitted online at the link above, or by email to


The award shall consist of a suitable plaque with appropriate wording.


The presentation of this award is a highlight of the ION International Technical Meeting.

Previous Recipients

1999: Mr. Mortimer Rogoff
1998: Capt. A N Cockcroft
1997: Prof. Brian O'Keeffe
1996: Elrey B. Jeppesen
1995: Thomas A. Stansell
1994: Joseph N. Portney
1993: Dr. R. Grover Brown
1992: Chester B. Watts
1991: Ronald L. Ringo
1990: Paul J. Logus
1989: Maj. William L. Polhemus
1988: Joseph J. F. Liu
1987: Dr. Robert Goodstein
1986: H. Ray Lahr
1985: Dr. J. Frank Jordan
1984: Thomas A. King
1983: Fred B. Newton, Jr.
1982: William S. Arnott
1981: Edwin A. Link (posthumous)