Superior Achievement Award

Sponsored by The Institute of Navigation


To recognize individuals making outstanding contributions to the advancement of navigation.


Individuals cited for outstanding performance as a practicing navigator.


Nominations for this award may be submitted by anyone, but all nominations must be in conformance with ION nomination standards. Recipients need not be members. Those received in correct form by October 15 will be considered.

Submit a Nomination

Nominations can be submitted online, by fax to 703-366-2724, by email to or by mail to:

Chair, Awards Selection Committee
The Institute of Navigation
8551 Rixlew Ln., Suite 360
Manassas, VA 20109


Nominations must be received by October 15. Submissions received after the closing date will not be considered.


The presentation of this award is a highlight of the ION International Technical Meeting.

Previous Recipients:

2004: Capt. Jeremiah R. Monk

1999: Captain Robert P. McCrady, USAF
1998: Capt. David M. Lange
1997: Maj. Bernard Mater and Maj. Kari Smith
1996: Capt. James R. Bortree 1995: Dr. James Newman
1994: Robin Knox-Johnson
1993: Major Michael K. Carney, USAF
1992: Andre Gil-Artagnan
1991: Capt. Thomas P. Himes, Jr.
1990: Maj. Keith A. Torgerson
1989: Kay Cottee
1988: Capt. Phillip M. Carr
1987: Capt. Hugh C. Coffman, USAF
1986: Capt. Gary T. Ambarian
1985: David F. Burch
1984: Dick Smith
1983: Mark A. Fowler, Jr.
1982: Jonathan Sanders
1981: Capt. Stephen S. Whitson, USAF
1980: Richard H Battin and Capt. Harvey R. Mink, Jr.
1979: Capt. Terry N. Mayer, USAF and Capt John M O'Connell, Jr.
1978: Edward B. Cush and Daryl D. Thornburg
1977: Dr. Thomas D. Nicholson
1976: Charles E. Hastings (posthumous)
1975: Ronald L. Berry
1974: Professor Gieseppe Simeon
1973: Ralph F. Haupt and Dr. David Lewis
1972: LCDR Malcolm G. Bartels, USN and Mary Tornich Janisawski
1971: Capt. Elgen M. Long and Dr. Walter Wrigley
1970: Kenneth Victor Mackenzie and Donald F. McKeown
1969: Richard F. Gordon, Jr and Walter Haeussermann
1968: E.W. Anderson and Capt. James A. Lovell, USN
1967: Robert E. Edgell and Vernon I. Weihe
1966: Sir Francis Chichester and Michael William Richley
1965: P. Hugon and Major William L. Polhemus, USAF
1964: Vladimir A. Reichel (posthumous)