Session P4b: Recent Innovations at Time Laboratories and National Metrology Institutes


Date: Thursday, January 26, 2023
Time: 10:35 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
Location: Beacon B (4th Floor)
Session Chairs:
Dr. Giancarlo Cerretto
Roger Brown

Sign in to:

  • Add papers to your schedule
  • Download full papers and presentations

1. Clock Development Activities at the U.S. Naval Observatory : T. G. Akin, Bryan Hemingway, Steven Peil, Precise Time Department, US Naval Observatory; J. D. Whalen, Computational Physics Inc.
2. Consideration of Thermal-Beam Calcium Clocks for Timing Applications : Steven Peil, Thomas G. Akin, Joseph Whalen, United States Naval Observatory
3. NIST-F3, a Cesium Fountain Frequency Reference : Gregory W. Hoth, Jeff A. Sherman, National Institute of Standards and Technology; Alexander G. Radnaev, Peter Mitchell, Infleqtion; Vladislav Gerginov, National Institute of Standards and Technology and University of Colorado Boulder
4. Time and Frequency Over Optical Networks, Results from European Metrology Project TiFOON : Per Olof Hedekvist, RISE Research Institute of Technology; Josef Vojtech, CESNET; Jochen Kronjäger, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt; Peter Whibberley, National Physical Laboratory; Davide Calonico, Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica; Jacques Morel, Eidgenössisches Institut für Metrologie (METAS); Erik Dierikx, VSL – Nederlands Metrologisch Instituut; Krzysztof Turza, Poznan Supercomputing and Networking Center; Paul-Eric Pottie, LNE-SYRTE, Observatoire de Paris, PSL Research University, CNRS, Sorbonne Universités, UPMC; Ondejíp, Institute of Scientific Instruments of the CAS, v.v.i. (ISI); Ulrich Schreiber, Technical University of Munich; Przemysaw Krehlik, AGH University of Science and Technology; Anne Amy-Klein, LPL, Université Sorbonne Paris Nord, CNRS; Jean Lautier-Gaud, iXblue; Vittori Curri, Politechnico di Torino
1. Common-View Multi-Constellation GNSS Time Transfer, with and Without Time-Interval Counters : Aidan Montare, Jeff Sherman, Michael Lombardi, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Virtual Presentations
Pre-recorded presentations will become available for viewing by registered attendees on Tuesday, January 25.
  Incorporation of an Optical Lattice Clock in Steering UTC(NICT) : T. Ido, H. Hachisu, N. Nemitz, H. Ito, N. Ohtsubo, Y. Miyauchi, M. Morikawa and K. Matsubara, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology
  Progress Reports on the Yb Optical Lattice Clock NMIJ-Yb1 for Contributing to International Atomic Time : T. Kobayashi, National Metrology Institute of Japan; D. Akamatsu, National Metrology Institute of Japan & Yokohama National University; K. Hosaka, Yokohama National University; Y. Hisai}, Yokohama National University; A. Nishiyama, A. Kawasaki, M. Wada, H. Inaba, T. Tanabe, National Metrology Institute of Japan; F.-L. Hong, Yokohama National University; M. Yasuda, National Metrology Institute of Japan

12:15 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. Awards Luncheon - Late arrivals will not be served after 12:30 p.m.