PLANS Awards

The following awards will be presented during the IEEE/ION PLANS Awards Luncheon.

The IEEE Kershner Award

The Kershner Award is awarded for outstanding achievement and contribution to the technology of navigation and position equipment, systems or practices. Nominations are due January 23, 2023. View nomination details and past recipients.

The IEEE Walter R. Fried Memorial Award

The Walter R. Fried Memorial Award is awarded for the best paper at PLANS - $750
View award details and past recipients. 

PLANS Best Paper Awards

Awards are presented to the lead authors of the best paper in each technical track. The selection criteria include: technical content, innovation, importance and timeliness of the subject matter; and conciseness, clarity and completeness of the written material. Additionally, papers must be present in the PLANS proceedings to receive an award - $250 each.

PLANS Best Student Paper Award

Best Student Paper - $400