2024 Fellows Announced at ITM PTTI 2024

Media Release
Contact: ION National Office, 1-703-366-2723

9:00 a.m., January 25, 2024

Long Beach, California, January 25, 2024 -

The Institute of Navigation (ION) has announced its 2024 Fellows inducted during the co-located International Technical Meeting (ITM) and Precise Time and Time Interval (PTTI) Systems and Applications Meeting in Long Beach, California, January 22-25, 2024.

Election to Fellow membership recognizes sustained professional accomplishments that have significantly contributed to the advancement of the arts and sciences of positioning, navigation, and/or timing (PNT) in the areas of technology, management, practice or teaching, and a demonstrated and sustained impact on the PNT community. Fellows have maintained an observable presence in the ION community over the long-term, including contributions to ION programs and publications.

Dr. Sanjeev Gunawardena has been elected for his contributions to the innovation, education, standardization, and proliferation of satnav software-defined receiver tools and technology.

Dr. Keith McDonald has been elected for his contributions to navigation warfare testing and PNT situational awareness; and for sustained thought leadership and management impact in military positioning, navigation, and timing.

Dr. Skone has been elected for her sustained contributions to the advancement of geospace studies using GNSS and related subjects; and for her selfless services to the broader community.

The Fellow grade of ION membership was established in 1998 to honor notable members of the Institute who made outstanding sustained contributions to the art and science of positioning, navigation, and timing (PNT). More information regarding this year’s elected fellow members and those elected in past years can be found at https://www.ion.org/awards/ion-fellows.cfm.