2023 Hays Award

Presented to: Chad E. Pinkelman

Citation: For enduring contributions to Global Positioning
System (GPS)-based programs, including significant
contributions to an open architecture for multi-sensor integration, delivering assured PNT capabilities

2023 Hays Award Chad Pinkelman

Chad E. Pinkelman is the head of the Positioning, Navigation, and Timing (PNT) Division at the Naval Information Warfare Center (NIWC) Pacific where he is responsible for a team of more than 100 government personnel working on military PNT programs. He has been contributing to the advancements of PNT technologies for more than 24 years, spanning the entire life cycle including modeling and simulation, analysis, architecture, research, development, test, evaluation, production, installation and in-service engineering support. He started as an engineer working on the first-generation Selective Availability/Anti-Spoofing Module (SAASM) GPS receivers. He then served as the lead engineer (LE) from concept through full rate production for the open architecture GPS-based Positioning, Navigation and Timing Service (GPNTS) Program which is the primary PNT source on Navy surface ships.

Working side-by-side with the United States Space Force, Mr. Pinkelman developed maritime unique requirements for the Military GPS User Equipment (MGUE) program. His coordinated efforts facilitated integration into the GPNTS host system for the MGUE maritime domain lead platform. He also oversaw the integration of the Office of Naval Research (ONR) Non-GPS Aided PNT for Surface Ships (NoGAPSS) Future Naval Capability (FNC) that leverages the GPNTS open architecture to transition alternative PNT sensors.

Mr. Chad E. Pinkelman is a Navy Liaison to the ION’s Military Division and is designated subject matter expert for Navy GPS and PNT by the Naval Information Warfare Command. His civilian awards include the Navy Exemplary Achievement Award, Navy Meritorious Civilian Service Award, and ASN (RD&A) Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientists and Engineers of the Year Group Award. He holds a BS in Electrical Engineering from Ohio University.