2020 Hays Award

Presented to: Karen L. Van Dyke

Citation: For her significant contributions to civil GPS applications, for her lead role directing the Adjacent Band Compatibility study, and for her commitment to international PNT coordination.

Norman P. Hays Award - Karen L. Van Dyke

Ms. Karen Van Dyke serves as the Director for Positioning, Navigation, and Timing and Spectrum Management in the Department of Transportation (DOT) Office of the Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology. Ms. Van Dyke oversees the DOT navigation program and advises senior officials on positioning, navigation, and timing (PNT) issues and policies, as well as radiofrequency spectrum management—including protection of services essential to transportation from harmful interference or operational degradation. Ms. Van Dyke previously served as the U.S. Department of Transportation Volpe Center's principal technical advisor for the Global Positioning System.

Ms. Van Dyke was a member of a team that conducted a study for the Office of the Secretary of Transportation to identify and analyze GPS vulnerabilities and interference mitigation techniques for all modes of transportation. Ongoing research continues in this area, as well as in developing a national PNT architecture to identify and implement technologies for emerging navigation needs, such as with autonomous vehicles.

Ms. Van Dyke has been involved in navigation-related programs at DOT for more than 30 years in many roles supporting a wide range of organizations including the National Space-Based PNT Executive Committee, RTCA SC-159, APEC GNSS Implementation Team, ICAO Navigation Systems Panel, JPDO CNS Standing Committee, FAA WAAS Program Office, US Air Force GPS Directorate, Civil GPS Service Interface Committee, and the DOT Navigation Working Group.

Ms. Van Dyke is a past president of ION (2000-’01) and an ION Fellow (2003) and is a recipient of the Award for Meritorious Achievement (Silver Medal) from the Secretary of Transportation. She received her BS and MS degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Massachusetts Lowell.