2019 Hays Award

Presented to: James J. Miller

Citation: For exemplary leadership in establishing and sponsoring the National Space-based Positioning, Navigation and Timing (PNT) Advisory Board to serve the worldwide user community.

James Miller - 2019 Hays

James J. Miller is deputy director of Policy and Strategic Communications within the Space Communications and Navigation Program at NASA Headquarters, where he advises NASA leadership on policy and technology issues regarding Global Navigation Satellite Systems. Since 2007, he has been the executive director of the National Spacebased PNT Advisory Board; and in 2019 was appointed executive secretary of the National Space Council Users’ Advisory Group. Prior to NASA, Mr. Miller was the deputy director of the Office of Navigation and Spectrum Policy at the Department of Transportation and received a commendation from the Under Secretary for his work on the President’s Spectrum Policy Initiative for the 21st Century.

Prior to government service, Mr. Miller was program manager for the Flight Standards and Technology Department at United Airlines, where he assisted in determining airline industry policy on emerging communications, navigation and surveillance technologies and applications. In this capacity, he was a founding member of the International Air Transport Association (IATA) Spectrum Protection Steering Group, vice chair of the ARINC Aeronautical Frequency Committee, and flight operations representative on the Air Transport Association (ATA) Flight Systems Integration Committee. Mr. Miller also led airline industry efforts at two World Radiocommunications Conferences as the spokesperson to the US Ambassador for IATA. In 2000, industry and government leaders commended him for this work, including the President and CEO of ATA, CEO of United Airlines, and US Vice-President.

Mr. Miller is a commercial pilot and holds a BS in Aviation Flight and Aviation Management, a Master of Public Administration from Southern Illinois University Carbondale (SIUC), and a Master in International Policy and Practice from George Washington University.