2014 Fellow

Presented to: Prof. Peter Teunissen

Citation: For invention of the LAMBDA method, the current standard for integer ambiguity resolution in GNSS carrier phase measurements, and for reliability theory of integer estimation.

Peter Teunissen

Professor Peter Teunissen is highly regarded for his contributions in the design of algorithms that lie at the heart of all current GNSS products. He is the inventor of the LAMBDA method which revolutionized high precision GNSS positioning capabilities and which is currently the standard for fast and optimal ambiguity resolution.

Prof. Teunissen is also considered to be the founder of the statistical GNSS reliability theory of integer inference. Prof. Teunissen’s decorrelation-based method of integer bootstrapping is a popular alternative to search-based methods, and his easy-to-compute lower bound of the integer least-squares success rate is today still the sharpest known lower bound. His aperture estimation principle gives GNSS users control over their ambiguity failure rate, and provides guidelines/ rules on how to develop ambiguity resolution strategies when integrating different GNSSs and/or GNSS-like systems.

Prof. Teunissen’s leadership skills are reflected in his contributions to satellite navigation training. As director of education, he initiated the Aerospace Engineering Geomatics program in 2004. He is known as an excellent teacher. He has been a visiting professor at several universities in different countries to teach advanced courses on satellite navigation.

Peter Teunissen is Professor of Geodesy and Satellite Navigation at Delft University of Technology (DUT), The Netherlands, and Curtin University of Technology (CUT), Perth, Australia. He is science director of the Cooperative Research Centre for Spatial Information (CRCSI) contributing to the national positioning infrastructure. Prof. Teunissen is a Fellow of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences (2000), and a Fellow of the International Association of Geodesy (1997). He is recipient of numerous awards and is currently a member of ten editorial boards. He has published six books and over 250 scientific papers.