2013 Weems Award

Presented to: Dr. Mikel Miller

Citation: For his contributions to the management and encouragement of advanced navigation research and for his service to The Institute of Navigation.


Dr. Mikel Miller has over 30 years of experience in leading, motivating, teaching, advising, mentoring, researching, developing, testing, integrating, and implementing state-of-the-art navigation systems. He is an internationally acknowledged scientific leader and researcher with a unique ability to focus research and development efforts associated with interrelated groups of technologies. He has fostered advanced navigation technology through the development of concepts for new reference sensor technology and leadership and management of advanced navigation technology development programs.

Dr. Miller is a member of the scientific and technical cadre of senior executives, serving as the chief scientist, for the Air Force Research Laboratory’s Munitions Directorate, Eglin Air Force Base, Florida. He is the directorate’s principal scientific and technical advisor and primary authority for the technical direction of a broad, multi-disciplinary research and development portfolio encompassing all aspects of munitions science and technology.

Dr. Miller graduated from North Dakota State University in 1982 with a BSEE and commissioned as an AF officer from the USAF Reserve Officer Training Corps program where he was a distinguished graduate. He also earned his MSEE (1987) and PhD EE (1998) from the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT). He has authored/ co-authored more than 60 journal articles, technical papers, and documents-including a NATO handbook on navigation technologies. He has taught numerous short courses and graduate level courses on navigation technologies.

Dr. Miller is a Fellow of the ION and the Royal Institute of Navigation, a past recipient of the ION’s Burka Award, ION Distinguished Service Awards and numerous Air Force medals and awards. He has held leadership positions within the ION on the local and national level including ION president (2009-2011). He has organized several large ION conferences and academic competitions, including the newly established Pacific PNT conference. He is also a former chair of the Joint Service Data Exchange (JSDE), and a member of the IEEE and AIAA.