2002 Distinguished Service Award

Presented to: Dr. Rudolph M. Kalafus

Citation: In grateful recognition of his leadership and achievements on behalf of the Institute of Navigation.


Dr. Rudolph M. Kalafus has served as the Institute of Navigation’s president from June 2002 to June 2003. Prior to his term as president, he served on the ION’s Executive Committee and the ION Council holding numerous positions, including Executive Vice President and two terms as Western Region Vice President. Furthermore, Dr. Kalafus served as program chair of the Satellite Division’s annual meeting for ION GPS 1989, and as general chair of ION GPS 1990. In 1992, Dr. Kalafus received the ION Satellite Division’s coveted Johannes Kepler Award for sustained and signifi cant contributions to satellite navigation. In 2001, he received the ION’s Captain P.V.H. Weems Award for continuing contributions to the art and science of navigation for his signifi cant contributions, guidance and chairmanship in the development of RTCM Special Committee 1044 Recommended Standards for Differential GNSS Service. He became an ION Fellow the same year. He also edited Volume III of the ION Special Issues on GPS and was the co-editor of the Autonomous GPS Integrity Monitoring section in Volume IV. 

During his year as ION president, Dr. Kalafus was instrumental in the updating and the execution of the ION’s Strategic Five Year Plan. He has also supported the addition of the ION’s Executive Fellows Program, the initiation of a formal ION investment policy and the expansion of the ION section scholarship program.