2002 Burka Award

Presented to: Dr. James J. Spilker, Jr. and Dr. A.J. Van Dierendonck

Citation: For the paper, "Proposed New L5 Civil GPS Codes" that appeared in the Fall 2001 of NAVIGATION: Journal of the Institute of Navigation, Vol. 48, No. 3, pp. 135-143.

Dr. James J. Spilker

Dr. James J. Spilker is a professor (consulting) in the Department of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. He works in the new Stanford University Networking Research Center, that conducts state of the art research in advanced Internet and wireless technology, and in the Center for International Security and Cooperation. Dr. Spilker is also the chairman of Rosum Corporation, a cell-phone location technology company. Dr. Spilker has co-developed the new civil GPS signal for the so-called L5 signal and is a member of the Air Force GPS Independent Review Team and the FAA WAAS Independent Review Board that reports to the FAA administrator. He sits on the board of directors or science advisory board of several commercial Internet related companies that work on broadband Internet access.

From 1973 to 1999, Dr. Spilker served as co-founder, chair, CEO, and president of Stanford Telecommunications Inc.—a company he grew to nearly $200 million in profitable sales with over 1,000 employees in eight states. Stanford Telecommunications conducted research and development and production in digital satellite communications, wireless Internet fixed-point to multi-point communications, ASIC semi-conductor chips for cable modems, and GPS. Over the years, Stanford Telecommunications won numerous awards for its performance including the Top Gun award from Aviation Week and awards from Space Technology Magazine, Forbes magazine, and Fortune magazine. Other awards included, The Best 200 Small Companies in America, the U.S. Small Business Administration Award for Excellence, and several awards from the U.S. Air Force and the U.S. Department of Defense. In December 1999, Stanford Telecom was divided and sold to Newbridge/Alcatel, ITT Industries, Intel Corporation, and Dii/Flextronics.

In additions to the awards his company received, Dr. Spilker has been the recipient of numerous awards including, the Johannes Kepler Award from the Institute of Navigation and the Hall of Fame Award from the U.S. Air Force Global Positioning Joint Program Office. He is a fellow of the IEEE and the ION. He is also the author of Digital Communication by Satellite, Prentice-Hall, 1977; co-author of GPS Theory and Applications, AIAA, 1996, and co-author of Evolution of Modern Digital Communications Security Techniques, Pennsylvania Academy of Sciences, 2002.


Dr. A.J. Van Dierendonck

Dr. A.J. Van Dierendonck has worked on all segments of satellite navigation. He has achieved recognition as codeveloper of the L5 signal structure, an Ionospheric Scintillation Monitor, and the NarrowCorrelator technology and its application to multipath mitigation. He has served as chair of the RTCA working group responsible for the development of Minimum Operational Performance Standards (MOPS) using GPS and the signal specifications currently being used by RTCA, the FAA and ICAO for Satellite Based Augmentation Systems. He has developed and promoted the use of Geostationary Satellites for ranging and integrity applications of GPS, developed a receiver used exclusively in the FAA Navigation Satellite Test Bed in both the reference stations and in the flight test vehicles, and a noninterfering / noncross correlating signal specification for Airport Pseudolites (APLs). He is currently involved in civil GPS modernization, C/A code signal anomaly detection, GPS augmentation standards and GNSS receiver design and development. Dr. Van Dierendonck has worked on GPS and satellite navigation for over 26 years for General Dynamics, Stanford Telecom and Inmarsat, and currently as an international consultant at AJ Systems and a general partner of GPS Silicon Valley. He received his Ph.D. and M.S. from Iowa State University and B.S. from South Dakota State University. He is an ION Fellow and has been the recipient of the ION´s Burka Award, the Kepler Award and Thurlow Award. He is an IEEE Fellow and has been inducted in the US Air Force´s GPS Hall of Fame.